Talstation

Your adventure starts at the Talstation, Trofengbachgasse 13, 8790 Eisenerz. This historical building awaits you with modern features.

 

 

Abenteuer Erzberg combines modern open-pit mining with historical underground mining, and offers future prospects. You will experience pure Erzberg-feeling at our offered tours: the Hauly Adventure Trip, the live blast in the active mining area, the round tour in our mystical Show Mine, and the brandnew open-air exhibition “Erlebnisreich Erzberg”.

As soon as you enter the Talstation, you will see the fast development in mining. An interactive touchscreen  nicely shows you humans’ impact in nature. You can see how constant mining has changed the appearance of the iron mountain. Just click and be astonished.

Here is an interesting fact: This building where you get your tickets and start your tours was the first building that the miners entered every early morning from the 1920s to 1965. From this building the miners were taken to their workplace or to the settlements at the Erzberg by the “Hugo-Stinnes Schrägaufzug”, a funicular railway. Talstation, by the way, means something like “valley station”. Even tourists used this funicular railway to visit the mountain house of the Erzberg, which was 1,220 meters above sea-level, and which was the final stop of the funicular railway. Unfortunately, the Hugo-Stinnes Schrägaufzug was removed. Since 1987, the Talstation has been the reception building of Abenteuer Erzberg. Still, the distinctive shape of the building is a constant reminder of the ancient use of it.

 

The Talstation does not only offer impressions of mining, the Haulyshop and Haulyrestaurant happily invites guests to stay for a while. Last but not least, visitors can gaze at the Vernissage Erzberg, a photo exhibition by Dr. August Zölbl.

 

 

Tip: Next to the Talstation, there is a playground for kids, and an old blast bunker with special functionalities can be entered.

 

Important information: Near the Talstation is a big parking lot for our guests (no charge!). Camping with caravans at our parking lot is allowed too.


The Haulyrestaurant

The team of the Haulyrestaurant is happy to serve you delicious meals and refreshing drinks. Before, between, or after the tours you can sit there and enjoy your dish. Our patio is comfortable, as well as spectacular, as you have a direct view at our visitors’ dumpers Hauly I+II.

The Haulyshop

Visit our shop and purchase mining souvenirs, including precious minerals, fine ore from the Erzberg, tools, toys (like wheel loaders and dumpers), and much, much more …

Talstation

Das Abenteuer Erzberg beginnt für sämtliche Besucher im Empfangsgebäude Talstation, das sich in der Trofengbachgasse 13, 8790 Eisenerz, befindet. Das historische Bauwerk wurde in der Winterpause 2015/16 modern adaptiert und wartet mit neuen und modernen Features auf unsere Gäste.

 

 

Abenteuer Erzberg verbindet für Sie den aktiven Bergbau ober Tage mit dem einstigen Bergbau unter Tage und gibt gleichzeitig Ausblicke in die Zukunft. Erzbergfeeling pur erleben Sie während der Fahrt mit dem Schwerlastkraftwagen Hauly, einer Sprengung im Tagbau, des Rundgangs im Schaubergwerk, und in der brandneuen Freiluftausstellung Erlebnisreich Erzberg.

Schon beim Betreten des Gebäudes wird die rasche Weiterentwicklung im Bergbau ersichtlich. Visualisiert werden die durch den Tagbau hervorgerufenen Veränderungen der Gestalt des Erzberges durch eine interaktive Installation. Einfach zum Reinklicken und Staunen!

Interessant ist außerdem, dass die Talstation nicht nur Ausgangspunkt für unsere Abenteuer ist: bereits Anfang der 1920er Jahre bis 1965 haben hier tausende Arbeiterinnen und Arbeiter früh morgens ihren Dienst angetreten. Auf den Erzberg zu ihren Arbeitsplätzen ging es für sie mit dem Schrägaufzug Hugo-Stinnes, der in den Jahren 1924 bis 1965 auch Familien zu ihren Wohnhäusern der Erzbergsiedlungen und Ausflügler zum Berghaus auf 1220m Seehöhe – der Endstation der Bahn – brachte. Nach Stilllegung der Bahn wurde die Talstation um ein Stockwerk erhöht, behielt aber ihren urtümlich funktionellen Charakter bei. Seit Beginn des Abenteuer Erzberg im Jahr 1987 ist die Talstation das Empfangsgebäude für unsere Besucher.

Neben ersten Eindrücken aus der Welt des Bergbaues, bietet die Talstation für unsere Gäste auch das Haulyrestaurant, den Haulyshop und die kostenfreie Vernissage Erzberg von Dr. August Zölbl.

 

Tipp: Rund um die Talstation ist vor allem für unsere kleinsten Besucher bestens gesorgt. Neben einer echten Sprengkapsel mit Spezialfunktion, können sich Kinder auf unserem Abenteuerspielplatz so richtig austoben.

 

Wichtige Information: Gegenüber dem Empfangsgebäude Talstation stehen für Gäste des Abenteuer Erzberg ausreichend viele Besucherparkplätze kostenfrei zur Verfügung.


Das Haulyrestaurant

Gäste können vor Antritt ihres Abenteuers noch eine Stärkung im Haulyrestaurant einnehmen. Richtig gemütlich, wenngleich auch spektakulär, ist es dabei auf der Terrasse – mit freiem Blick auf unsere Schwerlastkraftwagen Hauly I und II.

Der Haulyshop

Unser Haulyshop bietet alles, was das Bergbauherz begehrt: wertvolle Mineralien, „Schlägel und Eisen“ als Emblem in Form von Anstecknadeln, Autoabzeichen etc., typische Lampen des untertägigen Bergbaues, Bücher, Schwerlastkraftwagen und Radlader für Kinder und vieles mehr …